Written by Rosario Harper

Young Money President Mack Maine has addressed the confusion about Lil Wayne’s Rebirth album accidentally being released ahead of schedule and promised a “new” version for 2010.


Writing via his daily Twitter page, Maine re-tweeted a remark made by Young Money representative, Karen Civil.

“Young Money will be on the Monique show 2nite!!!!! Check ya local listings for specific times!!!!,” he wrote Wednesday (December 16). “RT @GUDDA1: DEC.21ST DEC.21ST >>> “W R YOUNG MONEY” IN STORES MONDAY!! RT @KarenCivil: Leaked 09 Rebirth isn’t going to be 2010 Rebirth..” (Mack Maine’s Twitter)

Despite the project being pushed to February, early copies were released this week.

About 500 Amazon customers who pre-ordered the album are enjoying the record already, thanks to a shipping mishap. According to sources and an e-mail to Billboard from an Amazon customer, the online merchant sent copies of the album to some customers who pre-ordered “Rebirth.” The album began arriving in mailboxes on Monday, Dec. 14, despite a change in the street date from Dec. 21 to February 1. Although Amazon received the word to return the Lil Wayne album, supposedly about 500 copies were sent to customers. An Amazon spokesman didn’t respond to an e-mail request for a comment. (Billboard)

The rock album was initially slated to be released next week before being rescheduled to February 2010.

So, you thought you might be able to hold Lil Wayne’s Rebirth in your hands before New Year’s? Psych! A Universal Motown rep tells the Music Mix that Weezy’s long-delayed rock-influenced follow-up to 2008’s Tha Carter III has been pushed back yet again from its planned Dec. 21 release to an unspecified date in 2010. (Entertainment Weekly)

According to an Amazon UK posting, Wayne’s 12-song album did not feature a track from Drake.

Rebirth Track Listing:

1. American Star (feat. Shanell)

2. Prom Queen (feat. Shanell)

3. Ground Zero

4. Da Da Da

5. Paradice

6. Get A Life

7. On Fire

8. Drop The World (feat. Eminem)

9. Runnin (feat. Shanell)

10. One Way Trip (feat. Kevin Rudolf)

11. Knockout (feat. Nicki Minaj)

12. The Price Is Wrong

Also On Hot 107.5: